Transfer from UBC Arts to UBC Commerce (Sauder) FAQ

Hi all,

I had received multiple emails asking me about my experience in transferring from UBC Arts to UBC Commerce. Today, I would debunk some of the myths that you have been wondering yourself.

headerimage-atrium.ashx

1) Does transferring to second year affect whether you graduate on time?

To my knowledge, NO. As long as you fulfill 24 to 30 transferable credits of Year 1 and 4 core courses to apply (ECON 101, ECON 102, MATH 104/184, and ENGL 112 or their equivalents), you will graduate within 4 years.

In second year, you will have to take all mandatory COMM courses without any non-Commerce electives because all of your courses in first year will be counted as non-Commerce electives. After catching up with other direct entry student in second year, you will have options to take non-Commerce electives in third and fourth year.

2) Do I have to take COMM 100 when I transfer? 

Not at all. COMM 100 is for non-Commerce students wanting to have a taste of what business is like (or that’s what I think 2 days into the course). However, you do NOT need it to transfer.

3) Which courses are you taking in second year?

I am taking COMM 202, 290, 291, 292, 293, 294, 295, 296, 298, 391, 392. (Review for them will be posted soon!)

4) What was your core average/overall average?

My overall average in first year was 86.6%. My core average was 90.5% (for 4 core courses).

However, I think that the average is weighted 50% of your overall application, so as long as you have strong personal profile, a low 80 average would still suffice.

5) How many credits did you have when you transfered into year 2?

I have 30 credits, but I think 24 is enough.

6) Can I take one or some of the core courses in the summer leading to second year and apply to transfer?

NO. You will need to get your application in by January 31st, and by the end of April you will need on your transcript the averages of 4 core courses and complete 24 transferable credit.


The application deadline again is January 31st. I honestly do not understand why people wait until March to ask me these questions, but best of luck on your application!

Let me know if you have any questions during the process. I would do my best to help :)

Lots of Love,

Leave a Reply

